BLAKEY, Art: Live in '65


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Davis, Jonathan - Saxophone

Date of Concert: 1965

Art Blakey: Live in '65

Catalogue Number: 2.119017
UPC: 747313901753

Jazz Icons: Art Blakey boasts an exceptional one-hour concert by Art Blakey from Paris in 1965. This performance showcases one of the few undocumented Blakey bands, the New Jazzmen, featuring the incomparable Freddie Hubbard on trumpet, as well as Jaki Byard on piano, Reggie Workman on bass, Nathan Davis on sax and, of course, Art Blakey on drums truly a powerhouse quintet!

Freddie Hubbard's incendiary playing on Blue Moon and the blistering 24-minute version of his own Crisis, serves as a cogent reminder that was one of the most innovative trumpeters in jazz history.

Part 1


Select language: