RACHMANINOV, S.: Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: Nos. 5 and 6 (Giltburg) (from Naxos 8.573469)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39

Playing Time: 00:03:00
Catalogue Number: NVF0047

Pianist Boris Giltburg sees Rachmaninov's Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39 as cinematic short stories or colourful tone paintings. In contrast, the unashamedly beautiful Moments musicaux are concentrated explorations of a single idea or mood, from struggle and pain towards light and genuine joy. In these collections, which contain some of the composer's most affecting music, Rachmaninov shows himself to be a master of the meticulously crafted short-form genre.

Part 1

Select language: