MASTERCLASS WITH ZOLTAN KOCSIS - SCHUBERT, F.: Symphony No. 9, "Great": I. Andante - Allegro ma non troppo


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Schubert, Franz - Composer
Symphony No. 9 in C Major, D. 944, "Great"

Year of Production: July 2010
Playing Time: 00:21:38
Catalogue Number: RSS6907_1

In this rehearsal, Maestro Kocsis emphasizes the importance of harmony changes at the beginning. He focuses on the main cue of horns and then the Professor and the orchestra work on it. Later, there are some corrections on horn and oboe parts related to the phrasing. The 'marcato' on the score has a specific function in the phrasing, so it has to sound different to the echo, with much more contrast.

Referring to dynamics, in passages with 'crescendo' it is necessary to achieve more intensity. He explains the connection between 'risoluto' and dynamics. He comments that Bach preferred playing with the viola instead of with the violin in an orchestra. The string section should pay attention to the 'sforzando', so they have to exaggerate a little to get a clear effect, and always 'sforzandi' in the second beat. In same moments, Kocsis holds the orchestra to avoid rushing.

Part 1

Select language: